2013-05-23 / Front Page

Mark Strain Elected President of School Board

Monday night the regular meeting of the Lexington ISD Board of Trustees was called to order by Phillip Brown, Board President, at 7:10 p.m.

New officers were elected at that time, Mark Strain, president, Joe Green, vice president, and David Boettcher, secretary. Brenda Johnson was appointed recording secretary.

Prior to the regular meeting, a called meeting was held at 7:00 p.m. to canvass the election results and swear in the newly elected board members. The canvass confirmed that Chad Garrett and Riza Cooper were elected to the two positions. Karen Hoelscher administered the oath of office.

The board also conducted a walkthrough of the facilities at 5:30 p.m. They began at the football stadium to observe the bleacher problems on the visitors’ side as a result of the drought. They also walked through some of the other facilities, but due to the regularly scheduled meeting, the walkthrough of the remaining facilities will be scheduled at a later date.

Corrinne Herman was employed as a special education teacher and Nora Mosby was rehired as the band director for the 2013-2014 school year.

A 2% salary increase across the board was approved for teachers.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2013-05-23 digital edition

Today's Special Links