2012-11-29 / Community News

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society Has November Meeting

The Gamma Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, November 10, 2012, in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, Texas, with 47 members in attendance.

Myra Neves read the Mission Statement, and Sandy Scarborough led the pledges. Heather Smith led members in the Collect, and Jessie Kokemor gave the meditation.

Beth Franke and the Ceremonies Committee conducted an initiation ceremony for Jill Morrison of Burton. Members welcomed her and then sang “The Delta Kappa Gamma Song.”

President Mary Keienburg thanked the Sealy members for serving as hostesses. She then presided over the business meeting. The minutes were approved as printed. Members regretfully accepted requests from Becky Bader, Melanie Conway, Allison Howard, Nancy Krampitz, Connie Moss, Julia Parker, and Debby Schiel for their resignations. Linda Pinkerson read the Treasurer’s report, which was approved. Cheryl Pritchett led members in singing patriotic and Thanksgiving songs.

Committee reports included: Achievement awards by Carole Fry, Legislative report by Lou Pruett, Professional Affairs report by Sue Wieprecht, Yearbook report by Gail Schroeder and Linda Braun, and Program Committee report by Trudy Holland. Members then worked on making goody bags for the members of the Brenham Children’s Chorus.

Shelley Nies won the Door Prize donated by Beverly Ekarius, and Myra Demel won the Perfect Attendance prize donated by Patsy Ashorn. The next meeting will be at 9:30 a.m. on December 1 at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg with the Hempstead members serving as hostesses.

Members attending from Lee County were Lynette Brown and Trudy Holland.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-11-29 digital edition

Today's Special Links