2012-08-09 / Sports

Community Baseball League’s 2012 Season Ends

by Roland Zoch

The 2012 Community League Baseball season came to an end on Sunday, as the La Grange Demons defeated the Jackson County Thunder, 4-3, at The Ballpark at the Fairgrounds in La Grange, TX. This marks consecutive league championships for La Grange. After a back and forth contest in the early innings, Jackson County held a 3-2 lead, thanks to a base hit by Jackson County catcher Doogie Van Wie, and a throwing error by the La Grange right fielder in the top of the fourth inning, but La Grange staged a comeback in their half of the eighth, with a timely hit by Lane Schramm, to score Chase Wheaton, and tie the game at 3-3, then a balk with Ryan Majewski on third, by the Jackson County pitcher to push the goahead run across home plate. In the top of the ninth, Ryan Majewski retired the side to top off his 9-inning complete game, 12 strikeout performance on the mound for the Demons.

MVP honors went to Majewski for the Demons and Glenn Sparkman, P, for the Jackson County Thunder.

Congratulations to the La Grange Demons!!!!!!!!

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-08-09 digital edition

Today's Special Links