2012-06-14 / Sports

Jarrell Wins State Baseball Championship

by Mike Organ

The Jarrell Cougars, representing District 27-AA, won the state baseball championship. It was not easy for the Cougars as they played Elkhart in the opening round. The semi-final game went 13 innings with both teams having a chance to win. One important aspect of the long game for small schools is pitching. Jarrell used its top guns to win the first round game. Aaron Burns pitched the first seven innings and Morgan Cooper the final six for the win. Both were unavailable for the championship game. The Cougars looked to little used Tyler Krupp to hold Bushland down so the Cougars could have a chance at winning.

Lexington lost to Jarrell 3-1 in Jarrell. The Eagles had a chance to win if they had played errorless baseball.

Krupp not only held Bushland to three hits and zero runs, he scored two runs and doubled home a run in the fifth inning. Just when the Cougars needed it an unsung player stepped up to help the team win the state championship. Krupp was chosen the MVP for the championship game and for the tourney, not bad for the team’s number nine hitter.

District 27-AA has quite a record in baseball. A member of the district has won the championship five of the last six years. Salado, Rogers twice, Cameron, and now Jarrell have taken home gold medals from the state baseball tourney.

Nearby Fayetteville won the Class A championship in a much different way. The Lions were behind Carlisle 4-0 going into the sixth inning of the opening game. The Lion bats came alive in the sixth to tie the game. In the seventh, Fayetteville scored the go ahead run to advance. The Lions’ top pitcher and second pitcher were blasted in the first two innings. In came Senior Trevor Malota to shut out Carlisle the rest of the game. In the championship game, which Fayetteville won 10- 0 in five innings, sophomore Les Stoelke pitched a one hitter and Malota had two doubles and a single with four RBIs. Stoelke was voted tourney MVP.

In 3A, Texarkana Pleasant Grove won the championship in their fifth consecutive try. Pleasant Grove won in 2010, defeating Giddings 2-0 in the championship game. The Hawks had nine seniors on their roster that had been to the state tourney all four years of high school.

4A champion Rockwall Heath defeated Montgomery in the first round and Cleburne in the final. Heath reportedly had nine players that will play Division I baseball next year. Former Eagle, Robert Morrison, is the associate principal at Montgomery. He kept us informed on all the players on the field as the Bears gave their all in the opening round game. Lake Travis was the Austin American’s favorite for the championsip, but they were defeated by Cleburne in the first round due to a lapse in fundamental baseball - catching throws, backing up throws, throwing strikes, and fielding ground balls. Even then it took Cleburne eight innings to defeat the Cavaliers 9-7.

Class 5A was a good game. Cypress Ranch defeated A&M Consolidated in the final. The game was good, but CR centerfielder Corbin Martin slammed a long home run and made several outstanding catches in the field. He was named tourney MVP for his performance. A&M defeated perennial state tourney entrant, Corpus Christi Carroll in the first round and CR defeated Arlington Martin to reach the final game.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-06-14 digital edition

Today's Special Links