2012-05-24 / School

Superintendent’s Corner

Frances M. McArthur, Ph.D.
Superintendent of Schools Lexington Independent School District

The Lexington ISD Board of Trustees met last week for their regular May Board Meeting. The boardroom at the Administration Building was overflowing with Lexington Middle School (LMS) Student Council students. The LMS Student Council received recognition last month by the Texas Association of Student Councils as an Outstanding Student Council, with special commendations for their ‘Community Service Mindedness’. The students took turns reporting to the board on their year-long efforts to make LISD and all of Lexington a better place. They ended their presentation with a team building cheer. Also recognized at the meeting were Lexington High School’s two state qualifiers in Academic UIL, Meaghan Sanders and Cody Church. Lexington Trustees congratulated both groups of students and Dr. McArthur pointed out the outstanding work of their sponsors, Mrs. Tammy Alford, Mrs. Emily Jane Cowen, and Mr. Liam Boyer.

Trustees approved extended dates for out of district transfers and increased application fees for students applying after the early bird registration date of June 2, 2012. Students submitting their applications after June 2nd and before August 9th will pay $350.00 and students submitting applications after August 9th will pay $1,000.00.

Ms. Amanda Player, Ms. Kristie Bradford, and Ms. Gloria Richardson were hired to teach in Lexington schools next fall, replacing Ms. Kim Aldridge, Ms. Lauren Hatch, and Ms. Queta Campbell. Mrs. Cindy Lewis’ contract was extended from half time to full time. Dr. McArthur noted that by extending Mrs. Lewis’ contract to a full time contract, LISD will be able to reduce half of a teaching position to help minimize the effects of the state budget shortfall on Lexington schools.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-05-24 digital edition

Today's Special Links