2012-04-12 / General Stories

Texas Historical Commission honors Star of the Republic

The Texas Historical Commission honored Dr. Shawn B. Carlson, curator of collections and exhibits at the Star of the Republic Museum, with the John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence last week in recognition of her efforts to identify the descendants of those who signed the Texas Declaration of Independence.

Star of the Republic was recognized for its “Adopt a Signer” project in which Carlson organized an effort to research the lineage of the 59 delegates who signed Texas’ Declaration of Independence from Mexico in March 1836. Those descendants were then invited to be recognized at the 175th anniversary celebration of Texas’ independence on Feb. 26-27, 2011, at Washington-on-the-Brazos State Historic Site

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-04-12 digital edition

Today's Special Links