2012-02-02 / Community News

Eagles Earn FB Honors

by Mike Organ

Will Holcomb Will Holcomb Will Holcomb, Antonio Washington, and Todd Glass were chosen to the Collin Street Bakery/ Texas Sportswriters Association All- State team, first team. Defensive back Josh Murray and quarterback Kogan Garrett were selected to the second team. Murray was also named to the third team as a receiver. Jason Washington received votes to earn honorable mention.

Holcomb graded at 94% for the season on his blocking assignments. He was credited with 42 pancake blocks, and his assignment did not sack the Lexington quarterback this season. Will played center this season and made all the blocking calls for the linemen. His natural position is offensive guard.

Glass, a junior, played defensive end for the Eagles. He made 148 tackles for the Mean Green. Todd had eight sacks and an outstanding interception for the 11- 3 Eagles. Glass recovered two fumbles in the 2011 season.


Todd Glass Todd Glass Washington had a break out season at linebacker for the Eagles. He was credited with 168 tackles for the season. Many were bone jarring stops on kick off and punt coverages. He caused five fumbles and recovered three during the season. Antonio was credited with seven quarterback pressures, and District 12-AA coaches selected him Defensive MVP.

Garrett had the best combined numbers of any 2A quarterback. He had 3,021 yards passing and 1,298 rushing and was 12-AA’s offensive MVP. Garrett had 30 TD’s passing and 24 rushing. The one thing he did not have was the glitz a state championship brings.

Murray was one of the few to get selected to offense and defense. He received a 2nd team honor for 160 tackles, five interceptions, six fumble recoveries, two sacks, and two caused fumbles. Josh also received a third team honor at wide receiver. He caught 65 balls for 1,006 yards and 11 TD’s.

Antonio Washington Antonio Washington Jason Washington was honorable mention at wide receiver. The HM means he got votes for all-state. Jason caught 62 passes for 1,179 yards and 12


Coach Jason Holcomb was proud of the athletes getting the honors. He said, “That is great for our school, when six of our athletes are given honors on a state wide basis.”

Kogan Garrett Kogan Garrett

Josh Murray Josh Murray

Jason Washington Jason Washington

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-02-02 digital edition

Today's Special Links