2012-01-19 / General Stories

Thank a School Board Member

Texans benefit every day from the tireless work and countless hours dedicated by a group of more than 7,300 men and women in communities across the state. These public servants are elected to serve by local constituents and receive no compensation for their efforts. These men and women are the school board members of Texas. January is School Board Recognition Month and Lexington ISD will take this opportunity to thank these local leaders for devoting time to support public education and serve our local schools.

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their contributions reflect a year-round commitment,” said Dr. Frances McArthur, Lexington ISD superintendent. “They selflessly give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community. In these challenging times, they face difficult choices and shoulder critical responsibilities. Their ultimate goal is always focused on the future success of every student enrolled in the district,” Dr. McArthur said.

“Our district is enriched by the contributions of these local citizens who truly care about our kids. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this board is responsible for an annual budget of 8,366,109 dollars, 927 students, 153 employees, and three campuses. We applaud their efforts to serve as advocates for our children and the voice of public education,” she said.

The board members serving are Phillip Brown, President, Russell Iselt, Vice-President, Alan Turner, Secretary, and Mark Strain, Joe Green, Doug Havard and David Boettcher, members.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-01-19 digital edition

Today's Special Links