2012-01-05 / Obituaries

Jerry Henry Vavra

September 18, 1920 - December 26, 2011

Mr. Vavra passed away the morning of Monday, December 26, 2011 at the St. Joseph Regional Health Center in Bryan, Texas.

Jerry Henry Vavra was born on September 18, 1920 in Caldwell, Burleson County, Texas to Joe & Emilie (Tracalek) Vavra. He was baptized on October 24, 1920 in the Brethren Church in New Tabor by Rev. Frank Horak and confirmed in 1934 by Rev. Anton Matecka in New Tabor. Jerry finished high school in Dime Box, Texas graduating in 1940. On April 22, 1942, he joined the U.S. Navy and spent three years, eight months and thirteen days as an Aviation Chief Radioman before receiving his Honorable Discharge on December 22, 1945, having obtained the rank of Chief Petty Officer. Jerry bought the Leonard Mikulin grocery store in 1946 and operated Vavra’s Grocery in Dime Box for many years.

Jerry was united in marriage to Florice Riske on June 22, 1947 at the Brethren Church in Dime Box by Rev. Henry Beseda Sr. He held the office of secretary/treasurer in many organizations that were formed in Dime Box, served as the election judge for Precinct 401 and was one of the first supervisors when the water district was formed in Dime Box. All his life he was a member of the Brethren Church, singing in the choir and serving as president of the church from 1954 until 2003.

Jerry was preceded in death by his parents; two sisters, Annie Urbanovsky and Evelyn Ehrlich and a brother, Joe Vavra.

He is survived by his wife of 64 years, Florice Vavra of Dime Box; nephew, Michael Ehrlich of San Antonio; two nieces, Joyce Weaver of Dime Box and Pat Crum of New Braunfels; three sisters-in-law, Lela Pearl Vavra, Maxine Meyer and Ruby Sharp all of Dime Box and Florice’s niece and nephew, Thomas Sharp of Dime Box and Carol Thacker of Houston.

Funeral services were held on Friday, December 30, 2011 at the Dime Box Brethren Church with Brother Jim Heckman & Brother Del Miller officiating.

Burial with military honors provided by the American Legion York Post 276 of Giddings followed.

Serving as pallbearers were Thomas Sharp, Richard Weaver, Joaquin Llanas Jr., Don Bayer, Clifton Marek, Ryan Orsak, Larry Lehmann and Alan Horak. Honorary pallbearers were Douglas Spacek, Donald Leitko, Joaquin Llanas Sr. and Wyman Davis.

Memorials may be made to the charity of one’s choice.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2012-01-05 digital edition

Today's Special Links