2011-12-22 / Front Page

Candidates Sign Up for Local Elections

March Primary Moved to April

Local candidates worked to meet a December 15 deadline in order to have their names included on the 2012 Primary election.

Running for Lee County Sheriff are incumbent Rodney Meyer, Democrat, and Vince McCoy, Republican. Running for Commissioner, Precinct 1 is incumbent Maurice Pitts, Jr., ( Democrat); and for Commissioner, Precinct 3 is incumbent Ronny Bradshaw ( Democrat). Running for Constable, Precinct 2 are Charles Mayer and Vernon Surmann on the Republican ticket and Arnold Teiner on the Democratic ticket. Running for Constable, Precinct 3 are Stephen Lyles, Edward Malkey, Jeffrey McEntire, and Jody Tillery on the Democratic ticket and Alan Spence on the Republican ticket. Running for Constable, Precinct 4 are incumbent Charles Kothman (Democrat) and Tomas Perez (Republican).

Running for Tax Assessor/ Collector is Suzanne Kessler (Democrat). Kay Sweat is seeking re-election as the Democratic Party County Chair.

Although the deadline for the candidates to sign up for election had been set at December 15, as of this week, the deadline has been extended to February 1, 2012. A panel of three federal judges have set the Texas Primary elections to April 3, rather than in March as originally scheduled. The reason for these changes is that the new redistricting maps drawn by the last Texas Legislature have been challenged in court and are being redrawn.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2011-12-22 digital edition

Today's Special Links