2011-09-01 / Community News

Texas has 23 new Big Tree Champions

Texas has 23 new big tree champions, bringing the state one champion tree away from overtaking Arizona for second most champion trees in the country! American Forests’ National Register of Big Trees recognizes 86 total Texas big tree champions, including a 98- foot Rocky Mountain Douglas Fir in Guadalupe Mountains National Park, a 49-foot Netleaf White Oak in Val Verde County, a 55- foot Tallowtree in Houston, a 21-foot Evergreen Sumac in Travis County, a 58-foot Gum Bumelia in Freestone County and a 22-foot Littlehip Hawthorn in Sabine National Forest. These trees are often discovered by big tree hunters who specialize in locating monster trees.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2011-09-01 digital edition

Today's Special Links