2011-03-31 / Front Page

St. John Lutheran Church to Celebrate 125th Anniversary

This Sunday, April 3, 2011, St. John Lutheran Church in Lincoln, will celebrate its 125th Anniversary. A full day of activities is planned, beginning with regular Bible class at 9 a.m., followed with a worship service with Holy Communion at 10 a.m. Participating in the service are Rev. Dale Bohm, Rev. Ken Hennings, President of the Texas District of the Lutheran Church- Missouri Synod and Rev. Charles Kieschnick.

The morning service will be followed by a noon meal hosted by the congregation. Former pastors and teachers will be given an opportunity to bring greetings and share highlights of their times at St. John.

In the afternoon service beginning at 2:00 p.m., Rev. Clyde Kieschnick of Abilene will preach. Others participating will be Rev. David Ebert and Rev. Otto Brillinger. Melvin Shiwart will be the organist for both services.

Pastors who have served St. John Lutheran, Lincoln, since 1886 are: Rev. Th. Wolfram, 1986-1889; Rev. Louis Ernst, 1889-1903; Rev. F. Wunderlich, 1904- 1907; Rev. R. Osthoff, 1907- 1944; Rev. A Stroebel, 1944-1955; Rev. A. E. Greutzner, 1956- 1957; Candidate Daryl Johnson, 1958-1959; Rev. Henry Gerike, 1960-1964; Rev. Carl Biar, 1965- 1973; Rev. Barry Hildebrandt, 1975-1981; Rev. Otto Brillinger, 1982-1986; Rev. Rolf Larson, 1986-1990; Rev. David Ebert, 1990-1998; and Rev. Dale Bohm, 1998 to the present.

Everyone is welcome to worship at St. John. Our church is located on FM 1624, one mile west of Hwy 21 in Lincoln.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2011-03-31 digital edition

Today's Special Links