2011-03-10 / Sports

Eagles @ Rosebud Tourney

by Mike Organ

Lexington defeated Axtell 9-3 on Thursday. The Eagles defeated host Rosebud-Lott 5-2 and lost to Mart 10-8 on Friday. The Eagles lost the championship game 3-0 against Midway JV on Saturday.

Game 1- Lexington 9 Axtell 3

Lexington scored five runs in the second inning to take a quick lead. The runs came on doubles by Kogan Garrett and Kaelan Blok and singles by Dylan Iselt, Brandon Meyer, and Lane Turner. Three runs in the third were keyed by Logan Meuth’s double and Garrett’s double. The final run came in the fourth as Blok walked to lead off, Turner followed with another walk. The runners moved up on a wild pitch. Meyer launched a fly ball to deep centerfield and Collin Wiggins scored after the catch. Iselt was the winning pitcher.

Game 2 – Lexington 5 Rosebud-Lott 2

This was a close affair after the two teams battled to a 14-12 decision last Saturday. The Eagles posted four runs in the second. The runs came on walks to Tyler Moerbe and Meyer, singles by Blok, Meuth, Garrett and a double by Iselt. The fifth run came on a single by Iselt, followed by a stolen base and a single by Josh O’Conner. Blok was the winning pitcher.

Game 3-Mart 10 Lexington 8

Lexington jumped out to an 8-0 lead but could not hold the lead as Mart scored 10 unanswered runs. Lexington put up three runs in the first on walks to O’Conner and Islet followed by a double by Moerbe, and a single by Turner. The next five came in the second inning. Garrett led off with a double, an Iselt single followed, Moerbe reached on an error, as did Meuth and Havard. Greg Tiemann got on another error and a Wiggins single. Garrett was the losing pitcher.

Game 4-Midway 3 Lexington 0

The Eagles could not get it going against the Waco team. Four hits, none in the same inning, was all the Eagles could manage. Lane Turner did a good job on the mound for Lexington but his teammates could not put any markers on the scoreboard.

Three Eagles earned All Tournament recognition following the competition: Dylan Iselt and Kogen Garrett were recognized for their hitting during the contests and Kaelan Blok was recognized for his pitching.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2011-03-10 digital edition

Today's Special Links