2011-03-03 / Sports

Eagles Win Tourney

by Mike Organ

“WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS” of the Lexington Tourney! 
PHOTO BY MIKE ORGAN. “WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS” of the Lexington Tourney! PHOTO BY MIKE ORGAN. The Lexington Eagles opened the 2011 season with three wins to take the championship of the Lexington Tourney. Lexington defeated Onalaska, Thrall, and Rosebud-Lott to win the first place trophy. The championship game was full of drama the entire night. Lexington opened a big four-run lead, Rosebud-Lott came back to take a six-run lead and then Lexington battled back to take the win in the bottom of the sixth.

Game 1

Lexington 11 Onalaska 0- Dylan Iselt pitched a one-hitter and the Eagles plated 11 runs in four atbats. The Eagles played errorless defense in the opening game of the season. Lexington got off to a great start scoring four runs in the bottom of the first. Kogan Garrett reached on an error to open the game. Iselt followed with a double to plate the first run of the season. Tyler Moerbe singled Iselt home, Lane Turner doubled home Moerbe, and Brandon Meyer singled home Greg Tiemann, running for Turner, to give Lexington a 4-0 lead. The biggest hit of the game was Meyer’s bases loaded triple in the fourth inning. Meyer knocked in four of the 11 Eagle runs.

Game 2

Lexington 10 Thrall 9- Lexington jumped out to a 10-1 lead and then held on as Thrall mounted a rally. Kaelan Blok pitched very well the first four innings. He ran out of gas in the fifth as the Thrall rally started. Brandon Meyer came on to stop the charge by getting the last two outs in the fifth after Thrall had scored five runs. Thrall added three runs in the top of the sixth inning to close to 10-9. Josh O’Conner came in to get a force out at second and a called third strike to put out the fire. The game was stopped due to a tourney time limit rule. Donnie Havard had a two RBI double in the third inning for the Eagles. Meyer was threefor three in the game.

Game 3

Lexington 14 Rosebud-Lott 12- Lexington won this scoring marathon with a three-run rally in the bottom of the sixth inning. Garrett started the game for Lexington and held the Cougars scoreless the first two innings. The Cougars broke through for six runs in the third inning to take the lead 6-4. Lexington had taken the lead on Moerbe’s two-rbi single in the first and Iselt’s two-rbi single in the second. After falling behind 4- 10 Lexington started their comeback in the fourth at-bat. Iselt doubled with one out, O’Conner walked, Moerbe singled home a run, Blok singled home a run, Greg Tiemann singled home a run, and Collin Wiggins hit a tailing fly ball the right fielder dropped that allowed two runs to cross. The result was a 9-10 RL lead. RL scored two runs in the top of the fifth to open their lead to 12-9. Lexington answered in the bottom of the fifth with two runs on a Garrett single, an O’Conner walk, a run scoring wild pitch, and a single by Blok to make the score 11-12. Iselt held RL scoreless in the top of the sixth. Lexington retook the lead in the bottom of the sixth. Meyer led off with a slow roller to the first baseman that was booted. With two outs, Garrett hit a seeing-eye single that rolled between the first baseman and second baseman to score Meyer with the tying run. Iselt followed with an infield single sending Garrett to third. Iselt moved to second on the first pitch and O’Conner lashed a hard single to centerfield to plate two runs and make the score 14-12. With one out and two runners on, O’Conner came in and got the save for the Eagles. Iselt was the winning pitcher and the Eagles were tourney champions.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2011-03-03 digital edition

Today's Special Links