2010-12-23 / Community News

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society

The Gamma Omega Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society met at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday December 4, 2010 in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, Texas with 63 members in attendance.

Peggy Ueckert read the Mission Statement and Heather Smith led the Pledges. Grace Holtkamp read the collect and Lynda York led the prayer. For the Meditation, Linda Braun read the Christmas story from Luke 2. Linda Spiess led the group in singing Christmas Carols. Terry Logan, Energy Education Specialist for the Waller ISD, presented a program entitled “I’m Dreaming of a Green Christmas”.

President Mary Keienburg presided over the business meeting.

Sue Wieprecht presented information on the scholarship recipients. Raeann Bentke of Somerville will receive the Maggie B. Selman Scholarship, Cacie Wagner of Burton will receive the Edna Marie Hamner Scholarship, and Shelby Holloway of Bellville and Abby Bozarth of Burton will receive Dorothy Louise Lehmann Scholarships.

Grace Holtkamp reported on World Fellowship.

Brenham and Burton members decided to give the Operation Lend-A-Hand award to Bread Partners of Washington County. Mary Keienburg thanked everyone who contributed to the Schools for Africa project. i

Sarah Garrison won the Door Prize donated by Anna Breddin. Shelley Nies won the Perfect Attendance Prize donated by Patsy Ashorn. Somerville and Caldwell members were thanked for serving as hostesses. The next meeting will be February 5, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church of Phillipsburg beginning at 9:30 a.m. with the Bellville members serving as hostesses.

Members from Lee County attending the meeting were Lynette Brown, Amanda Finley, Rebecca French, Sarah Garrison, Trudy Holland, Joyce Waddell, and Barbara Webb.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-12-23 digital edition

Today's Special Links