Taylor Conservation Christmas Home Tour
The Taylor Conservation and Heritage Society (TCHS) will be holding a Christmas Home Tour of 8 historical homes on December 11th, 2010 from 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and December 12th, 2010 from 1:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. The homes range in date from 1880 to 1931 and most of the homes will be decorated for the Christmas Holiday. Ranging from bungalows to mansions these homes show the diversity and character that created the town of Taylor.
Contact our TCHS President Nell Steger at (512) 352-2287 or Christina Davis at (512) 365-4625 for more information on this event and the society.
Tickets for the tour are $12 & $10 for seniors, $5 for children. Tickets may be purchased during tour times at the Old Bank Building on Main Street and second, which is the starting place of the tour.
The address is 200 N. Main Street, Taylor, Texas 76574. Taylor, Texas is located just east of Hutto, Texas in Williamson County. You may purchase tickets in advance until December 10th at Frill’s (201 W 4th), Kunisch Wellness Center (816 N. Main) and Dental Professionals of Taylor (1611 Old Granger Rd.)
The Homes on the Tour:
The oldest home on the tour is the Clark Mansion. This house was built about 1880 for Crawford Henry Booth, a prominent local rancher and banker. An unusual local example of the L-plan vernacular form, the house features many Queen Anne details, including an octagonal turret with onion dome roof, polygonal bays, and arched windows.
The Moore House, built in 1882, is one of Taylor’s Victorian gems. Built by Sebastian Riley, the house is on one of the earliest residential blocks in Taylor. It is built in the steamship style with wrap around porches on both the first and second floors.
Taylor’s turn of the century wealth and prominence, as the inland cotton capital of the country, is reflected in three houses on the tour built between 1900 and 1910. Colonel Easley Mansion completely reflects the personality of its first owner. This two-story brick and stucco mansion exhibits molded round bricks on the porches, with wreaths, and “E Pluribus Unum” engraved in the stucco.
The Dellinger House was built in 1905 by a prominent early Taylorite for his daughter and her husband, the first Chief of Police in Taylor. Through the years, the owners were known for their hospitality, hosting parties for local and national political figures such as President Lyndon Johnson.
The Schulz-Osborn House is a Colonial Revival, built by Taylor lumberyard owner Cameron Fairchild before 1910. Mr. Fairchild’s love of wood is demonstrated throughout the house, with magnificent stair railings going to the third floor, and extensive built-in bookcases. It was featured in Southern Living magazine.
Taylor experienced a boom period during and after World War I, and the three newest homes on the tour, were built between in 1917 and 1931.
The Littlejohn Home was built in 1917, and was one of the first houses to receive the local Taylor Conservation and Heritage Society marker. A bungalow built in 1924 is now the site of Taylor’s newest B&B: Heart to Heart.
The Foster-Osborn Home, built in 1931, is an English style cottage with Tudor style accents in the high pitched roof. The home has several unique features, especially the memorial stained glass windows in the living area.