2010-10-28 / Front Page

Hester, Kovar, Bise and Kleinschmidt Win

All Local Races Won by Narrow Margins





In this year’s General Election, over 47% of registered voters in Lee County, or 4,231 people, turned out at the polls. According to Sharon Blasig, Lee County Clerk, 1,464 people cast their votes early.

The races that affect north Lee County were the Justice of the Peace for Precinct 3 and the County Commissioner for Precinct 4. Incumbent Nick Hester narrowly defeated his opponent Richard Reat with 635 votes to Reat’s 610. Incumbent Linda Kovar won her Precinct 4 Commissioner’s position with 564 votes to Steven Knobloch’s 448.

In the south end of the County, incumbent Troy Bise kept his position as Justice of the Peace for Precincts 1 and 2, receiving 993 votes compared to Charles Mayer’s 955.

Another race of great interest to the residents of Lee County was that of State Representative for District 17, which Lexington resident Tim Kleinschmidt has held for the past two years. District 17 is a six-county district that includes Lee, Bastrop, Colorado, Fayette, Burleson and a small portion of Brazos Counties.

Kleinschmidt faced Pati Jacobs from Bastrop County in that race. As of press time, Kleinschmidt had approximatley 60% of the votes to Jacobs 30+%. With this victory, Kleinschmidt will start his second term in the House.

Incumbent Michael McCaul was also leading the race for U.S. House of Representatives District 10 as of press time.

Elected Tuesday night in uncontested races for Lee County were County Judge Paul E. Fischer, District Clerk Lisa Teinert, County Clerk Sharon Blasig, County Treasurer Melinda "Lyndy" Krause, Douglas Hartfield for Precinct 2 Commissioner, and Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Danita Smith.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-10-28 digital edition

Today's Special Links