2010-06-18 / Sports

Lexington Eagle Baseball Honors

Blok Named to First Team
by Mike Organ

Kaelan Blok was chosen for the District 25-AA All-District team in voting by coaches. Josh O’Conner and Dylan Iselt were given 2nd team honors.

Blok batted .393 in 56 at-bats while playing first base, outfield and pitching for the Eagles. 22 hits were achieved with 17 being singles, four doubles and a triple. Six RBI came from the hits. Blok also pitched for the Eagles this district season. 27 innings produced a 3.37 earned run average. 19 strike outs were recorded in the 27 innings.

O’Conner played shortstop and pitched for the Eagles. He batted 78 times with 28 hits fpr a .384 average. 15 were singles, 12 doubles and a homer produced 17 RBI for the season. O’Conner was the Eagles’ main pitcher for the season. O’Conner recorded a 3-5 record with a 4.98 ERA in 39 1/3 innings. He struck our 39 in the 39+ innings pitched.

Iselt played outfield and pitched for the Eagles this season also. He pitched 25 innings with a 5.32 ERA and a record of 2-1. He struck out 11 while on the mound. Dylan batted 81 times getting 29 hits with two doubles and a triple. Iselt stole 22 bases this season, leading the Eagles’ in larceny.

Lexington loses four seniors from this season’s club: Jacob Carr, Casey Iselt, Spencer Bounds, and Patrick Rogers. The Eagles return most of their pitching and position players. Joining the returnees are a group of youngsters from a 13-2 JV which earned them second in district to departing Salado. Lexington looks to have a strong team next season. The strong team will be needed in a district which has 2A State Champion Rogers and Class A semi-finalist Thorndale among the opponents. Jarrell returns a young team as does Academy, which closed the year strong. Lago Vista played Rogers 1-0 in a tough loss. The future of Lexington baseball looks bright.

State Champion Rogers received four first team positions from coaches, including Greg Mendoza who pitched the semifinal game and Chance Marek who pitched a one-hitter in the championship game. Salado had six players on the first team and two on the second, but production in the playoffs counts.

Other selections for this year’s All District mentions included Kreece Cooper, a senior at Jarrell High, named Most Valuable Player. Freshman of the year honors were given to Landon Ledbetter, another student from Jarrell High School and Newcomer of the year was given to Caleb Williams, a sophomore from Rogers High School.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-06-18 digital edition

Today's Special Links