2010-03-11 / Sports

Post Season Basketball Honors

by Mike Organ

After the completion of the most successful basketball season in many years, several Eagles were given honors in voting by District 25- AA coaches.

Coach Charlie Tucker was one of three coaches selected for Coach of the Year. It is Tucker’s second season as the Eagle basketball mentor.

Senior Julien Clark was chosen as District 25-AA Offensive MVP. Coaches in the district knew if they were to compete with Lexington, they had to curtail Clark’s offensive production. Not many succeeded, hence the Eagles in the playoffs.

Junior Kaelan Blok was chosen to the first team for prowess on the court. Blok hit many critical three-point shots that took the wind out of team’s sails as they tried to come back on the the Eagles.

Chosen to the second team were: Kelden Wren and Tevin Lovings. Wren has been on the varsity since his freshman year. He provided experience on the court and was reliable at the free throw line. Lovings improved more than any Eagle during the season. He was the player that was able to get lost in the opposition’s defense and get open under the basket. He also made treys at critical points in critical games.

Jason Washington, Xavier Ward, and Anthony Robbins were noted for Honorable Mention honors.

District 25-AA Boys All District

1st Team Braxton Tucker, Jr – Salado** Corbett McMilan, Sr – Academy** Colby Andrews, Jr – Academy Michael Ramirez, Jr – Florence Kyle Kuban, Sr – Academy Daniel Tucker, Sr – Jarrell** Jeremy Mertink, Jr – Jarrell Jordan Mills, Sr – Jarrell Justin Flowers, Jr – Lago Vista JeMarcus Johnson, Jr – Lago Vista
Kaelan Blok, Jr – Lexington**
**denotes unanimous selection

2nd Team
Koby Spears, Soph – Salado
Colton Meimen, Soph – Salado
Keldon Wren, Sr – Lexington
Ryan Anderson, Jr – Lago Vista
Garrett Swann, Soph – Lago Vista
Tevin Lovings, Sr – Lexington
J.C. Garcia, Jr – Rogers
Brendan Parrish, Jr – Rogers
Jacob Heiner, Jr – Salado
Coach of Year: Drew Sumner Jarrell
Ed Glendenning Academy
Charlie Tucker Lexington
MVP: Kreece Cooper, Sr. Jarrell

Offensive Player of the Year: Julien Clark, Sr., Lexington
Defensive Player of the Year: Conner McAtee, Sr., Academy
Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Ledbetter, Jr. Jarrell
6th Man Award: Matt Brenek, Sr. Academy
Lexington Honorable Mention: Jason Washington, Fresh, Anthony
Robbins, Jr., Xavier Ward, Jr
Lexington Academic All-District: Keldon Wren, Sr, Josh Murray, Soph

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-03-11 digital edition

Today's Special Links