2010-03-04 / Sports

Lady Eagles Get BB Honors

by Mike Organ

Several Lexington ladies earned District recognition this week. Angel Parks was chosen to the first team, Deja Griffin the second team and three girls, Nicole Koch, Karley Wren, and Rachel Clark, got votes to earn honorable mention recognition in voting by District 25-AA coaches. All the girls getting honors except Nicole Koch will be returning to the Lady Eagles next season.

The entire Lady Eagle team qualified for Academic All-District recognition. That is impressive since according to District 25-AA guidelines students nominated must have a 90 average.

The following is the list of the selections by district coaches: Coach of the Year – Loyd Morgan, Rogers; District MVP – Hadley Joiner, Jr, Salado; Offensive MVP – Liz Cruces, Sr, Jarrell; Defensive MVP – Jessica Mendoza, Jr, Rogers; Newcomer of the Year – Alex Wolf, Fr, Lago Vista

FIRST TEAM ALL DISTRICT: Bailey Strohmeyer, Jr, Academy; Krysta Stephens, Jr, Academy; Ashlee Garcia, So, Jarrell; Angel Parks, Jr, Lexington; Katelyn Morgan, Sr, Rogers; Shelby Sulak, Sr, Rogers; Carling Urben, So, Salado; Katy Clark, Jr, Salado

SECOND TEAM ALL DISTRICT: Kasey Button, Jr, Florence; Brianne Coffman, Fr, Jarrell; Brittany Schwertner, Jr, Jarrell; Nancy Juarez , Sr, Jarrell; Kym Edwards, Sr, Lago Vista; Deja Griffin, Jr, Lexington; Cayleigh Drake, Jr, Rogers; Kelsey Hudson, Jr, Rogers; Kirstie McGillick, So, Salado

HONORABLE MENTION: Nicole Koch, Sr, Lexington; Rachel Clark, So, Lexington; Karley Wren, Fr, Lexington

ACADEMIC ALL DISTRICT LEXINGTON: Nicole Koch, Rachel Clark, Veronica Richardson, Deja Griffin, Karley Wren, Johna Alford, Emily Bell, Mackenzie Brown, Angel Parks and Miranda Jones

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-03-04 digital edition

Today's Special Links