2010-03-04 / Front Page

Fischer Elected County Judge in Primary Race

Incumbent Krause Narrowly Beats Kieschnick in County Treasurer Race

Judge Paul Fischer Judge Paul Fischer Two local contested races were decided Tuesday during the Primary elections. Judge Paul E. Fischer defeated Bryan Iselt in the Democratic race for Lee County Judge. Incumbent Melinda Krause narrowly beat Hilary Kieschnick in the Democratic race for Lee County Treasurer.

In the Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 race, incumbent Troy Bise beat out his opponent, Erie Stowers, both of whom were running on the Democratic ticket. Bise will face Charles Mayer (Republican) in the November General Election later this year.

Both Fischer and Bise were appointed to their positions by Commissioners’ Court in February and March of 2009, respectively. Both appointments came as a result of Lee County Judge Evan Gonzales resigning his position. At the time, Fischer was Justice of the Peace Precinct 2. The Commissioners appointed him to take Gonzales’ position and Bise to take the JP position.

In a 26% voter turnout, Fischer got 993 votes with Iselt garnering 228 votes. Krause received 688 votes to Kieschnick’s 536 votes. According to Sharon Blasig, Lee County Clerk, there are 9,439 registered voters in Lee County and only 2,490, or 26.38% of the registered voters, showed up at the polls to cast their ballots.

As of press time, according to the Secretary of State’s website, in the U.S. Representative District 10 race, Republican Michael McCaul was ahead of his opponents Rick Martin and Joe Petronis with 84% of the vote. McCaul will be facing Democrat Ted Ankrum in the General Election. Ankrum was uncontested on the Democratic ballot. Also as of press time, in the State Senate race, Disctrict 5, incumbent Steve Ogden leads Ben Bius and will face Democrat Stephen M. Wyman (who was uncontested ) in November.

State Representative District 17 incumbent Republican Tim Kleinschmidt was unopposed in the Primary as was Democrat Patty Jacobs. Both will face off for State Representative in the General Election.

Other local races that will be decided in the General Election will be for County Commissioner Precinct 4 where incumbent Linda Kovar (D) will face Steven Knobloch (R) and Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 where incumbent Nick Hester (D) will face Richard Reat (R).

Running unopposed in the Lee County races were County Commissioner Precinct 2 Douglas Hartfield; District Clerk Lisa Teinert; County Clerk Sharon Blasig and Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 Danita Smith.

In Lee County, Vance Bradford ran unopposed for Chairman of the Republican Party and Kay Sweat ran unopposed for Chairman of the Democrat Party.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2010-03-04 digital edition

Today's Special Links