2009-07-23 / General Stories

Tri-County Aggie Mothers Club Review 2007-2009 History

by Sherry Hebert

Our club kicked off the year by inviting mothers and new Aggie students to a HOWDY Party on July 15, 2007 at First United Methodist Church from 2 - 4 p.m.

The August 20, 2007 meeting began with our newly inducted officers for 2007-2009:

Debbie Hajovsky— Care Package Chairperson; Mary Lou Anderle—Parliamentarian; Kathy Simek—Historian; Sherian Tofel—Treasurer; Sherry Hebert—Secretary; Susie Markwardt—3rd Vice-President (Programs); Wrenda Joost—2nd Vice-President (Ways/Means); Nancy Lehmann—1st Vice-President (Membership) and Arlene Zapalac—President. A Texas A & M Ring Crest was presented to Jason Hanke '07. Program for the evening: TAMU Financial Aid Services by Bridgette (Zinglemann) Ingram '99, '04

At our September meeting, Beverly Albers reported on our participation in Relay for Life and the Relay for Life Awards Dinner where our Aggie Moms Club known as the "Whoop Cancer!" team, won 1st runner up for Rookie Team of the year and team members were awarded bronze pins for donations collected up to $3000. Our bake sales, garage sales and individual money raised netted a grand total of $2755.00.

Our annual Tailgate Party before theTexas A & M vs.Oklahoma State game on Oct 6, 2007 was well attended. The annual Aggie Moms Fish Camp was attended by Debi Holz and Susan Kaspar Other monthly meeting programs included: TAMU Traditions Council. Carpool at TAMU, presented by Aggie students, Jay Gerber and Jessie Anderson gave information regarding the student run service that provides transportation for any student that prefers not to be behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Eighty-seven maroon canvas "Goodie" bags were filled with assorted treats and items and given out to students at the MSC on Thursday, November 29, 2008 for moral support during semester finals.

Items for spring '08 scholarship fundraising raffle—a wooden cooler in a stand, queen size quilt, and framed cross-stitched ATM Presidential seal.

January 2008 social: Boot Painting Party hosted at the home of Arlene Zapalac. Later that month we held our "10th Anniversary Celebration of our Aggie Moms Club on Monday, January 21, 2008" President, Arlene Zapalac opened the celebration that also consisted of a social and a meal. A reflection of our club's ten years of service through student scholarships, goodie bags for final exams, Ring Crest gifts for graduates, and programs to enlighten our own Aggie Moms on student organizations and traditions at TAMU was presented by Kathy Simek. Presentation of past presidents and thoughts given from each—Shirley Pyburn, Carol Janecka, Nita Tiemann, Joyce Muras, Betty Kahlden. Each past president brought along their scrapbook made during their twoyear tenure for viewing.

Sherry Hebert and Wrenda Joost accompanied president, Arlene Zapalac to the District IV Luncheon and Meeting presented by Northwest Harris County on January 26, 2008 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Houston. Our club won the attendance award!

The February 18, 2008 program was presented by Josh Tiemann '07 , a member of the Texas A & M Track Team. He explained the In- door and Outdoor Track Season. Eighty "Goodie" bags were filled for delivery the next day for semester finals at our April 23, 2008 meeting.

During our final yearly meeting on May 19, 2008, scholarships were awarded to high school senior, Kari Lynn Gallipp of Giddings. Aggie seniors receiving scholarships: Nathan Daniel Muras, Erin Leigh Albers, Chase Alex Anderle, Joseph David Grieve, Garrett Travis Hense, Dean David Kaspar, Travis Ulrich, Benjamin William Schovajsa. Ring Crests awarded to graduates: Megan Mueller, Josh Tiemann, Patrick Joost, Josh Melnar, Bradley Ulrich, Rachelle Etzell, Jenna Kaspar, Rebecca Hoeinghause, A. J. Lehmann. Winners of our Aggie Moms 2008 Raffle: Byron Wagner of Schulenburg—quilt; Joyce Muras—Coola Can; John Mayer—Framed A & M Cross Stitch.

We kicked off our new year on August 19, 2008 with an annual HOWDY Party Aggie welcoming newcomer moms of students attending Texas A & M University at the Sept. 9, 2008 Meet and Greet from 5:30 - 7:00 at the First United Methodist Church.

Our September 15, 2008 program: Trifecta Realty: Guest speaker and hometown Aggie, Brandon Shielack '04 introduced Kyle and Justin and explained their company's goal of helping prospective buyers enter the market of student housing investments, and guiding them in this lucrative market of great returns.

The program for the November 17, 2008 meeting was Traditions Council presented by Taryn Tipton, daughter of Aggie Mom, Pam Tipton.

Our January 19, 2009 Wine Tasting social was held at the home of Sherry Hebert. The program for the February 16, 2009 meeting was the Texas A & M Cancer Society presented by Korie Weyand (daughter of Aggie Mom, Susan Weyand) and team members Larissa and Kim. They provided handouts and expained the operations of Camp Kesem, which helps children of cancer victims. Ring crests were awarded to Landon Bippert '08, Joseph Greive '08, Josh Eckert - 07, and Chase Anderle '08.

The March 16, 2009 program: Texas A & M University at Quatar presented by guest speaker, Susan Pietsch.

Our final meeting of the year was held on May 18, 2009. Ring crests awarded to Kevin Janda '07, Adam Mayer '09, Erin Albers '09, Dean Kaspar '09, and Travis Ulrich '09. Scholarships were presented to Ashley Jurk from Giddings High School, Taylor Jacob and Whitney Hinze from Round Top-Carmine High School.

Texas A & M seniors receiving continuing education scholarships were Wade Mozisek, Michael Christopher Mayer, Cindy Matthijetz, Amanda Renee Fischer, Dayna Kaspar. Scholarship Fundraiser Raffle item winners were Rose Cernoch—queen size quilt; Edgar Ouellette—wooden cooler in stand, and James Lehmann— picnic table.

The following officers were installed for 2009-2011 term: Debbie Hajovsky—Care Package Chairperson; Denise Grieve—Parliamentarian; Kathy Simek—Historian; Susan Kaspar—Treasurer; Mary Ann Hatfield—Treasurer; Kim Kovar—3rd Vice President (Programs); Martha Powell—2nd Vice President (Fundraisers); 1st Vice President—Debi Holz (Membership); Sherry Hebert—President.

Return to top

Digital Edition

2009-07-23 digital edition

Today's Special Links